top of page
  • Writer's pictureLiz

Story Time

My uncle Matt was the most wonderful person. His jokes were outrageously funny, his smile contagious, and his view of life laid back. My uncle Matt passed away from a heart attack on January 4th, 2018. His birthday was December 25th, Christmas Day, and that was the last time I saw him. But this story isn't supposed to be sad. It's really not sad. Dr. Seuss once said, "Don't cry because it's over. Smile because it happened." My intention is not to make you, the reader, sad, or to make myself sad either. I mean to reminisce, to show his influence on my own humor, and to smile, because my uncle Matt always made me smile.


Uncle Matt told the same stories over and over, but they never seemed to get boring, only more amusing. He once told me of the time my immediate family (my mom, dad, and brother) attended my twin cousins' christening. I never was a church-goer, not religious in any aspect on my life, but I was three or so, and it was a celebratory occasion. Uncle Matt was there to swoop me away when things got boring during the ceremony, as I was quite a fidgety three-year-old. He took me to a small alcove, where there were stained glass windows and a large wooden statue of Jesus on the cross. My uncle was holding me, showing me the mural of glass, and the statue, patiently letting me fuss. Seeing the statue, I paused my wiggling, frowned at the wooden figure like a severe art critic at a Paris salon, and said, haughtily, "He's not even holding on..." Uncle Matt furiously whipped his head around to make sure no church officiant or passer-by heard my statement, before returning me to the rest of our party... and telling the whole family about it.


Christmas cards from Uncle Matt were always picked with careful regard as to what would make the recipient laugh the most. His sly, somewhat dark humor, and witty retorts were always a riot. His kindness to others made him a favorite in the company of family friends. And his ability to make me smile even in the darkest of times made me want to be that person for the ones I love.

(Uncle Matt in the yellow with my grandparents: Lake Winnipesaukee, New Hampshire)

bottom of page